Keswick 6th-7th May 2011….River Derwent

Had a weekend up in Keswick just this weekend gone fishing the Keswick Angling Association waters http://www.keswickanglers.co.uk/  and in particular the River Derwent.

Travelled up on the Friday morning with a couple of Friends and arrived in Keswick around 11.30am. Dropped the kit off at the flat and straight off to the newsagents for the licenses. £9 a day , cheap at the price for some really beautiful river fishing

Typical view from River Derwent

Landed on the river at around Noon ish, and fished from The Pencil museum right down to just beyond the suspension bridge, once I found that the fish wanted……… a bit of colour I had plenty of sport on Partridge and Orange and a small pink nymph, most fish were small in the 5-8″ bracket but I did manage to land a 12″ Wild brownie about 1lb in size. Fished until about 5pm or so and headed back to the flat for a well earned beer (or two) and a nice bag of fish and chips!!

Saturday started shamefully with a bit of a hangover!! nothing a bowl of bran and a cup of tea couldn’t fix though. On the river for around 9.30 or so and started with the same flies I finished with the previous day.I fished the first pool under the bridge and casted to a rising fish .. and landed a nice little brownie of around 8″ It was another good day on the Derwent, we decided today to walk down to the suspension bridge and fish the lower waters of KAA.

I had plenty of small brownies and salmon par they seemed to love my small pink nymph, however as it started to cloud over I decided to change the Partridge and Orange for a Gold head GRHE. Fished a small deep pool full of eddies and hooked in to a really large fish that looked in the 2lb region hooked…splashed around a bit.waved his tail goodbye and was off…  🙂   I fished this pool for about another 20 minutes !! and had another couple of really good pulls but failed to connect with any of them.. it did raise spirits though!

Fished right down towards the end of the KAA waters where there is some deep slower water and spotted what looked like a good fish rising, so walked downstream of him and cast the old GRHE 2 casts became 3 and nowt!! then next cast a strong pull……which I missed..hmm I kept at him…..another pull and a miss..grrr   next cast a solid take and I was in to him..he nearly bent my rod in to the water, he was off like a shot heading for a submerged log on the far bank, I managed to turn him then he shot off for the roots on the near bank , I gave him a little line as my rod was arcing so much I had to, managed to turn him and get him in to mid stream…where it seemed we were both taking a breather!! another couple of small ..ish runs and he was in the net ..a PB for me of 1lb 14oz!! well pleased!

River Derwent Brownie

That was enough for one day!! started the long walk back to the flat…….chips and a bottle of wine (class act me) finished off a great days fishing.

Hopefully do it all again next year

Leave a Reply

